Sign in to follow this  
MissMelons

77162: Yephima, Female Cloud Giant

Figured that since I have been lurking so long then I might as well post my most recent learning experiment. I started painting miniatures in September at Dragon*Con and have sense fallen in love with it. I'm still learning a lot of techniques to see what works best for me and what just doesn't work at all....example: I'm terrible at glazing. @_@

post-12705-0-43146500-1382751417_thumb.jpg

That's my first bit of work, not sure if its a Reaper miniature though, but sense then I have achieved this sort of quality.

post-12705-0-22988900-1382751366_thumb.jpg

She's only half way finished but so far I think she's pretty good. I can tell where I have improved but I'm am totally open to where I could use improvement! I hope to post her here again for you guys when she's finished. :D

I guess for the details. Ummm lately I started using a mixture of paints. Mostly to experiment with wear and tear and how they mix together. (Plus some desperation) Most of Yephima is Reaper paints but I used a mixture of Vallejo's Gold with Folkarts Metallic Inca Gold. (after that particular experiment I went out and bought several other colors of Folkarts metallics). Why? Because when it came to painting the armor, though this picture doesn't do it justice, this mixture made an interesting 'armored' look. It's slightly reflective like you would imagine armor or something metal to look. It also glazed over slightly uneasily like it had been tempered. The only downside to this concoction is that it goes on very thin and it dries very fast! I'm going to have to use a drying retarder next time I paint with it. The thing I like about Folkarts metallics is that the 'metal' look is very slight unless you add a lot. I think for this armor I used 2 drops of folkart gold and 3 drops of vallejo gold.