This is my first attempt at OSL! I will admit, I feel like I'm pretty much done with this but kind of want to throw it out there for comment - the general idea behind this paint is that parts of the mini are glowing pale blue, the sources of light are inside the cowl, inside the left "hand" opening of the shroud, and the hilt of the sword. I got this idea from the flame-like hilt. The runes on the sword are the same color.

Incidentally, for technique, I "primed" with the Reaper matte sealer, did a wash with black ink, water, and some clear green to tint it. The glow is supposed to be blue, that's mostly Valeo "Andrea Blue" with varying amounts of white.

Comments very, very welcome. I haven't done anything more to the mini other than start to dress up the base. I don't think I quite suceeded in what I am aiming for, but I haven't decided if I'm going to keep stabbing at it, or just make it a learning experience for next time.

post-12963-0-12017300-1389203167_thumb.jpg

• Like 6

The mini looks good, the greens and sword look good. I am not getting the OSL, however... is that were you want comments about?

I have learnt, from my first attempts, is that:

a) color placement is crucial for making it look good and "popping" (white-ish at the source of the light, blending more and more into the background color as you move out)

b) you need to emphasize it a lot. Not even that much. A LOT.

• Like 3

So it is too subtle, that's what I thought. also, I think fading from bluish-white to a darker blue is also a mistake. I have some ideas, but with Bones it's just as easy to get another to play with. After a certain point I suppose I might have too many wraiths, but I don't think I'll hit that until three or four. ::):

The mini looks good, the greens and sword look good. I am not getting the OSL, however... is that were you want comments about?

I have learnt, from my first attempts, is that: