I want to paint and assemble minis full time.

Hey duders

I've been selling painted minis since February of 2013 or so and I started actively seeking commission work around September, so far I've undertaken about six projects, Three single minis, two squads for a game(one was free so hardly counts,) and I've been in limbo with a project for an entire Warhammer army but the buyer won't come through with sending the miniatures so I've been sitting with 1/3 of the money for the commission and nothing to work on and it's been about two months of emailing back and forth trying to get this to go. But at any rate it's been nice because it's basically funding this hobby, but I want to do this full time, I want a sustainable living out of painting and assembling miniatures and terrain the trouble is getting clients.

So far the only advertising I've done was a post on Reddit, my blog and ebay sales where I pimp out my blog in every listing and to everyone who purchases a mini from me, this has netted me a big fat 3 clients! :(

I'm just not sure where to progress from here, I've considered starting a youtube channel and doing painting videos or tutorials for basic stuff but all of that already exists and the audience for that stuff isn't that huge to begin with. I don't know if a website would help or not and I wouldn't even know where to begin. Whenever I post my painted work on a forum or reddit I link to my blog but that hasn't done any good so far.

Just overall sort of lost as to what I should do from here, I don't know if anyone here does commission work even part time let alone full time but it doesn't hurt to ask, any ideas or thoughts from anyone are always nice to see.

• Replies 83
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Have you tried painting and putting items for sale on ebay, with a message that you do armies and custom work? Blogs are nice, but people don't go there looking for stuff to buy.