Peithetairos WIP :Goldar and a spirit.

Hi all,

at the moment I paint the Bones version of Goldar the barbarian. I first thought the sculpt is not that great and the Bones version has some issues with face detail, but we need a barbarian archetype for our RPG sessions and so I started painting him.

Only later I realised I had to go back and give him a proper nose (he lost his one in a casting accident...) and while I was at it also added some strains of hair as I didn't like the bald look.

After I finished all this I repainted the parts I had to scrape the paint of and went for the skin. I did not want to go to stark with the skin contrast and kept it subtle. Without any freehands he is a pretty boring sculpt, so I attempted to add a Maori style tattoo.

I consider the skin to be more or less done, the green cloth is done apart from the freehand which needs more contrast, the metal is done, the leather is done (I consider adding some freehand to make it look like decorations burned in the leather). Even so I consider them done I appreciate any suggestions how to improve him further). This is what I have so far:

img_4694.jpg

img_4692.jpg

I wonder what I should do to highlight the tattoo. I already know I can not just highlight it, but rather have to highlight the skin again to achieve an actual tattoo look. Does someone have experience with this and can give me an idea how dilute the skintone needs to be to achieve the look I would like to go for?

Looking at him again I also realised I might want the weapon to be a spear instead of an axe. I imagine him not to be a brute, but rather a proud tribal warrior, strong, fast and with a connection to his natural surroundings. I used a spear from the WGF Skeleton sprue and would also appreciate your opinion if it matches Goldar. I used some photoshop to get rid of the axe. Obviously the spear would be in his hand.

img_4695.jpg

img_4696.jpg

Edited by Peithetairos
  • Like 16
  • Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply