30002 54mm Belladonna

Sculpted by James Van Schaik

Normally I do not do W.I.P.'s as my life is so hectic and keeping up with one is a bit of a strain for me. However this is my first attempt at a 54mm and I would like some help from my fellow painters.

post-12251-0-50220600-1406564825.jpg

post-12251-0-34688400-1406564913.jpg

The only thing I'm trying to accomplish with her is nice, tidy brushwork, highlights in all the right places, depth of colour and separation between areas. Nothing fancy.  She also has a large base and backdrop. I'm working on that now.

Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for looking. 

• Like 18

I think she looks great Anne, really I can't pick apart your work here as you have a style of painting that is always so warm and inviting. She looks nearly finished to me, maybe just a couple more spot highlights on the top of the areas that'd receive the light, but even if you didn't she'd still look wonderful. I'm actually looking forward to seeing what else you are working on for her basing stuff.

• Like 1

I think she looks great Anne, really I can't pick apart your work here as you have a style of painting that is always so warm and inviting. She looks nearly finished to me, maybe just a couple more spot highlights on the top of the areas that'd receive the light, but even if you didn't she'd still look wonderful. I'm actually looking forward to seeing what else you are working on for her basing stuff.

That's one thing I noticed right off. I'll bring those up. Thank you for your kindness.

The hair and skin seem to close in color from the picts and blend together. Highlights as Uber suggests would help this.

Yeah, I know that's a problem. I was trying to do the hair as a strawberry blonde, something I've not done before. Perhaps if I add more red to the hair and do a stronger lining between face and hair that would help. 

Thank you both for taking the time to respond.

• Like 2

Looking good!

Couple questions/remarks: