CAV: SO Rach Kraken Preview

CAVBOSS

• Replies 81
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

On a side note as a topic of conversation. If this model was done to scale with the CAVs it would be about 4" long. Not a big deal with plastic, but do you want a 4" long fighter for your game? Discuss...

I think that could be intrusively large on the table. Considering that the Kraken is a aerospace unit likely to be operating at a significant altitude above the action on the ground, I don't think the model necessarily needs to be exactly the same scale.

I'm new to CAV and mech games in general, but I am aware that this was an issue for Reaper in its earlier incarnations of CAV. I certainly think tanks and other ground units should share a pretty close scale, but planes? Not so much.

I've played a LOT of other minis games where some elements were not in scale with others. I don't think it has to particularly destroy the imagery on the table, and can make things a lot easier.  Space stations and planets in starship games is an obvious example, but units operating in a different medium (air vs. sea vs. ground vs. space) are definitely another.

For whatever it's worth, that's my two cents...

• Like 2

Ok, I'll admit I like the larger size just because I have a thing for air/space craft, and a not-to-scale version would likely work just fine . . . 

I would go for a big one though . . . maybe it could be done it two sizes with the larger being a special edition piece! :-)

• Like 1

I'd have to say that I think keeping the scale "true" will probably cause less fuss in the long term. And, I would happily field a big-butt aerospace thing. People might be all "woah that's a bit big" but "it's to scale" is a way simpler explanation AND if it's good for 15mm you might pick up some sales.

• Like 3