This is the first time I've ever posted stuff that I've painted. I am a novice--only been painting a short time, but I love it.

I have a really hard time with getting a good picture, in fact I wish these were better. I welcome all feedback as I do want to try and get better. And if you have tips on taking better photos please share. I think one reason it's so hard to is because they are so shiny because I use The Army Painter, Quickshade.

Mistress of the Grove:

post-12264-0-11297100-1408068511_thumb.jpg

Malice:

post-12264-0-78044000-1408068613.jpg

Nexid Slave:

post-12264-0-34268000-1408068614_thumb.jpg

Gauntswept Scavenger:

post-12264-0-44051200-1408068615_thumb.jpg

Thopas, Lesser Gnome:

post-12264-0-35710000-1408068616_thumb.jpg

Giant Cave Toad:

post-12264-0-88101100-1408068616_thumb.jpg

Thanks.

I gathered that it was okay to post non-Reaper stuff when I read through the rules. If I am mistaken please let me know.

• Like 16

Great job, especially on the gnome!  I got these Whisper and Venom minis as well, and I was really impressed by the quality.  And yes, posting non Reaper minis is perfectly fine here :-)

A top coat of a matte sealer will do much to knock down the shine, which will also help get better pictures. As it is, these are nice and in focus, which is all that really matters for showing your work. Definatley off to a great start as a mini painter too. I look forward to seeing more of your work.

Thank you for all the kind words. It's very encouraging.

Out of a bit of frustration I did one last photo of the gnome. He's as shiny as the rest, I just have different lighting (different room really), and I wonder if that's why he looks the best.

@Corvus Umbra: I wonder, could you post a link to an example of the matte sealer you are talking about. Than might end up being a real difference maker, and I'd like to try it.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.