Having finished the disco Torch Goblins; I dug out the Emperor Lucius by Tom Meier.

This is the Standing version, then I will do him on horse.

Shield is very complex, as is that crown, and scabbard, with the pattern cloak and surcoat

over the armor.  That chain mail isn't much of an issue, but the rest of it is.

Black Shield golden eagle, or do I go Deutch, Green Shield, Black Eagle, or Gold shield Black Eagle.

Decisions decisions.  I'm thinking white and gold trimmed surcoat, maybe Emerald Green cloak with Gold on

Trim, to match the surcoat..

Anywho.. here are two photos of what he looks like on his binder clip !

post-12655-0-74621400-1409090159_thumb.jpg

post-12655-0-43866800-1409090160_thumb.jpg

• Like 8

My Major issue with this Sculpt is:.

I look at this piece of magnificence, and immediately notice the depth of the sculpting.

Shadows, and highlights are a MAJOR aspect of this miniature.

The way this piece is done requires deft brush handling, and a heck of a lot of prep work.

I need to line (add ink) to this puppy with extreme care.

The crown requires deep darks, with rich colors, and metal.

The armor requires dark dark base, and then dry brush on the highlights.

One inch tall, and the shield and Eagle are a major component.

If you haven't noticed.. "I'M Scared"!

This is NO walk in the park adventure !

We will get it done though. !

• Like 2

You are at the point in your painting that a challenge is a good thing Jay. It keeps you honest and helps you hone all of your skills. I believe this will be your best to date and you'll look back at all you learned by painting him up.

• Like 4

You are at the point in your painting that a challenge is a good thing Jay. It keeps you honest and helps you hone all of your skills. I believe this will be your best to date and you'll look back at all you learned by painting him up.