Sign in to follow this  

So I have been painting a bit off and on for a couple of years now and I have some parts of the triads but I don't think I actually have a full triad. In your opinion which Triads are the most important must have completed triads that Reaper sells? This is for the starting painter that needs to get some paints and only really has the funds to get the most used stuff.

Edited to add: Sorry that I forgot to mention I have over 70 different paints right now just no full triad sets.

Edited by prophetic_joe

I started with some yellow, red, Bloodstain and Carnage and something else, not really a triad, then got 9705 Cool Greens, 9706 Pure Blues, 9708 Royal Purples, and the 9715 Medium Skin set. With black and white I think you could paint anything with that.

But really it depends on what you're painting. If you're doing a bunch of lizard men you probably don't want the purple or the flesh tone right now.

And not to be rude, but basic paint colors have been covered many times on these boards, if you're willing to look it up there's a lot of advice already posted.

My favorites.  I have way too many paints, but if I could only keep 21 20, these would be them.

Red Triad: Brick, Deep Red, Blood red.

Orange Triad: Auburn Shadow, Carrot Top Red, Highlight Orange
Yellow triad: Chestnut Brown, Palomino Gold, Buckskin Pale

Green Triad: Forest, Grass, Jade

Blue Triad: Ultramarine

Violet: Burgundy Wine, Violet Red, Pale Violet Red

Brown: Muddy, Earth, Leather Brown

Pure Black, Rainy Grey, Pure White for shades.

• Like 2

And not to be rude, but basic paint colors have been covered many times on these boards, if you're willing to look it up there's a lot of advice already posted.