Sign in to follow this  
CashWiley

77072: Bailey Silverbell

I think it's a damn good effort but I see what your saying. Oh and never grocery shop or paint when hungry ;)

• Like 2

She looks nice. I've noticed too that my painting goes downhill along with my blood sugar. Too hard to stay focused and keep the hands steady. 

• Like 2

She is darned fine for a speed paint, but I do see what you mean about the cloak.  At first glance it looks more like camouflage than it probably should.  But it's an excellent example of how to choose locations for highlights.  The simplified style is actually really cool.  ^_^

• Like 1

The cloak looks like an artistic choice (though one I wouldn't make, but I'm no artist), but the rest? Another table-top speed paint?!

I hate you! ;p

• Like 1

But it's an excellent example of how to choose locations for highlights.  The simplified style is actually really cool.  ^_^

That's the goal of these projects. I was astounded watching Derek Schubert paint, he's very economical in his brushwork. His theory of how to fix mistakes is 'don't make them'. So I just focused on giving the 'gist' of what I'd spend a lot longer doing and tried to pay attention to what worked and what didn't. Posting this with that horribad top highlight makes me crazy, but at least you guys see I'm willing to share the /entire/ process, even when it's not easy!

Thanks for the kind words, folks! As I said, this one was tough to share but a great lesson, so really it's a win in my book. As long as you learn something, it's not a failure!

• Like 2

I did learn a bit more about trying to maximize brushstrokes, and I also learned that I need to work a lot more with my paint consistency.

Anyway, here she is.

She looks good Cash. You have peaked my interest in what you have learned; could elaborate on "maximize brushstrokes" and "paint consistency" please sir?

• Like 1