Can you suggest a good mini for a n00b painter?

Hello.  I'm new to painting and have no artistic background.  I've been watching videos and reading tips and tricks.  I'm ready to embark on my first painting expedition! 

Some minis look far more intricate than others.  Can you suggest a few specific models that might be "easier" for a beginner to paint?

Thank you!

• Like 2
  • Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Good beginner minis are in one piece and wide open stances with few accessories.     I like the Townsfolk minis in the Dark Heaven Legends line.  For example, the Bandits are a good set for beginner

Even if you are, post pics. We love seeing new painters' first pieces (especially when they eventually get really, really good)!

I'd look into the new Bones Learn To Paint Kit.  Comes with three great figures, directions, paint, and brushes.  A great starter kit.

Bones orcs are fairly easy to paint to a table top standard.  One of them is included in the Bones learn to paint kit which I recommend for first time painters. It has three Bones minis along with paint, brushes and instructions all in a nice plastic case..

Edited by ferret
  • Like 6

Good beginner minis are in one piece and wide open stances with few accessories.  

I like the Townsfolk minis in the Dark Heaven Legends line.  For example, the Bandits are a good set for beginners.  I use the guy with the club in my Step by Step Beginning Painting class at GenCon.

02677_w_1.jpg

Skeletons, zombies, goblins, kobolds, and orcs can also be good beginner minis.  Again, look for wide open stances and few accessories/details.

Ron

• Like 10