Sign in to follow this  
arctjg

92852 Burrowing Horror

I am rather new to the miniature painting hobby and this is my first work in progress post but I am having a few issues with this miniature and was looking for some input.

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on how to make the eye's pop a little more. The figure has such tiny eyes I was wondering if maybe doing some kind of shading around the eyes would help. (What color that would be is anyone's guess.) In addition I do not like how the wash turned out it seems to have pooled badly in a few places. Should I go back over it with the original color and try the wash again? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

post-13077-0-04948000-1424276496_thumb.jpg

post-13077-0-91324500-1424276497_thumb.jpg

post-13077-0-40470200-1424276501_thumb.jpg

post-13077-0-07140800-1424276504_thumb.jpg

post-13077-0-45290300-1424276505_thumb.jpg

Edited by arctjg
  • Like 13

It's a burrowing creature... so eyes aren't important.

Seriously I don't see where they are.

You could try lining them with a dark color and then adding a reflection.

Maybe choosing a color that stands out like a blue?

I think with that mini it's just going to be difficult because they are small eyes hidden by a large plating

• Like 1

I think it looks great. Personally, I wouldn't repaint him as animals (and animal-like monsters) look great when they aren't perfectly uniform.

Note for the future, you can use a damp brush to wick up excess paint to prevent pooling. I find this easier with larger brushes since they can hold more liquid.