Sign in to follow this  
Jasper_the_2nd

Megaminis Skeleton speed paints with Quickshade

Back when I started painting again, one of the first things I decided to paint was a bunch of skeletons I'd gotten from megaminis (who are now johnny borg castings and don't currently have these skelies....). They were to be my first tries at using Quickshade, and were done very simply.  While base coat, basecoat straps, cloth, armor and weapons, then Quickshade them and dull coat.

I did a whole mess of them, but 5 unique ones didn't get done for some reason.

Fast forward to 2 years later, and I'm cleaning up my desk in the basement and find these guys. So I decided to paint them up to (hopefully) match the rest.

This lead to a problem.  When I painted the rest it was right when I started painting again.  IE before I ordered any paint from Reaper.  These were done with old Partha paints.  Funny story...a few weeks ago an old friend of mine was telling me (via email, he lives 2 hours away) that he'd started painting again.  I knew he used Partha, so I asked him how his paints were and if he needed any.  I was going down that weekend, so I just took them ALL down and gave them to him (Well, all minus Plum, since I need to match that with a colour from one of my current lines I use first).

So I don't have any of the original colours.  So I've guess at close approximations and today I threw a bit of colour on the first two.

post-8239-0-71885600-1424307917.jpgpost-8239-0-65434400-1424307914.jpg

post-8239-0-14141400-1424307921.jpgpost-8239-0-67284000-1424307919.jpg

And that's apparently about all I did to them back then.  Now I need to go slap some dark tone quickshade on them and see how close the colours are  afterwards....

• Like 6

fwiw, Johnny Lauck is currently running a tavern terrain KS as Dungeon Decor 2. Later this year, he will have a robot-based KS for his Savage Crew ruleset.