removable accessories

Hello collective wisdom of the message boards:

I am about to begin a campaign through the arctic, and I wanted to give my character mini a warm winter cloak made of Green Stuff. I want to be able to take the cloak off when she's in Diplomat Mode instead of Explorer Mode. I could just make 2 separate minis, but it seemed kind of fun to make a removable accessory, if that's possible. Does anyone have experience here? My first instinct was to cover the mini with seran wrap and sculpt over that, then hope the cloak was bendy enough to snap on and off after curing. This is my first time using Green Stuff, so I thought it best to ask for advice before making a huge mess.

thanks! :-)

- Ovid

Well, seeing as how I was just working on a mini with a cape, I may be able to help you here...

My approach was to splat a thin layer of GS mixed with Apoxie Sculpt onto aluminum foil, and then crinkle it into rough shape over the figure. After it cures, it should be possible to slowly peel away the GS from the foil, leaving you with a thin, flexible sheet you can sculpt additional elements onto, like folds, fur trim, and the like. Splat more GS than you need, that way you can get crisp corners by slicing away the rough edges with a hobby knife.

Water is key to understanding GS. GS will stick to almost anything dry. It will not stick to anything, even itself, wet. The key is getting your tools damp, not wet, so using them doesn't cause GS to ride up with your tools and ruin any sculpting attempt, while not so wet that trying to smooth it out results in a cracked and micro-folded surface.

• Like 4

Well, seeing as how I was just working on a mini with a cape, I may be able to help you here...