lowlylowlycook

Ethiopian Terrain: need help

So despite already having 20 unpainted minis, I got talked into starting a WW2 miniature game called Bolt Action.  Because A) I always have to do things the hard way (fewer people make WW2 Ethiopians than British, Germans Russians and Americans, shocking I know) and B) because the country is always close to my heart and C) it's a chance to learn some new history that I previously didn't know much about, I'm going to make an Ethiopian Army.  Or more accurately a mashup of British troops and advisers, some Sikh soldiers and native Ethiopian soldiers of various types.

What's got me maybe even more excited though is the idea of taking the opportunity to make some nice terrain that would hopefully evoke the feel of the countryside there.  I'm new to making terrain but of course I can probably find some nice tutorials on plateaus, ravines, tilled farmland, etc.  Other things that are particular to Ethiopia, I've had less luck finding. In particular there are some iconic things I'd like to be able to make:

False Banana Tree (If ever you are asked to eat this, called enset, politely decline).

post-8223-0-39765500-1427249299_thumb.jpg

post-8223-0-87031000-1427249517_thumb.jpg

A kind of typical Ethiopian Hut

post-8223-0-49724900-1427249674_thumb.jpg

post-8223-0-27683000-1427251517_thumb.jpg

For the False Banana Tree, I don't know if I should maybe start with some kind of scale palm tree and cut them short or maybe just look through a selection of plastic plants until I can find something suitable and then attack that with scissors.  Also no obvious way of doing the half shed branches occurs to me.

For the hut, I've come across advice to do the thatching using fake fur.  And I guess the walls could just be any kind of tube or pipe of the right size  with some kind of texture added.

Any advice?

Now if I could just find some minis for a coffee ceremony in 28mm...

• Like 7