Sign in to follow this  
The B

Noob asking for washing advice

Hello all!

I'm fairly new to the hobby (mostly play soccer & jog) but I picked up a Reaper Bones LtPK back in November and now I'm an addict.

I need some advice for the griffin I'm working on. The wings are painted with a blend technique of light colors but I'm not sure what color to wash them or how (considering they blend). Maybe there is another technique I should try? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I applied a black wash to the griffon body and dark green feather (pic not show as It was done later) and it came out kind of 'eh'. I know I will have to go back and touch up the dark green feathers, that is not a problem, but the griffon's body (dark brown) now has black splotches on it.

For the orange head I though about washing it in dark red or brown, and washing the yellow neck in orange or brown; and the light green I would wash with dark green.

Any advice?

Cheers!

post-14016-0-56339300-1427729005_thumb.jpg

post-14016-0-07448400-1427729008_thumb.jpg

• Like 1

I don't think green ink on the green part will do much for you.  I would wash the yellow and orange parts with brown, that will really bring out the feathers but not obliterate the color. 

• Like 2

Washes / Glazes are a back and forth. I tend to base color, shade or wash in the shadows, then paint in my highlights. Lastly I may use a very thin glaze of the base coat color to unify the "color area". But until you get really familiar with the individual paints and how strong the pigment intensity and opacity of the coverage, there is going to be successes and failures. I will say as a general rule of thumb, paint colors that are light (pastel) in value tend to "chalk" when you overwork them or try to use them as a wash or glaze.

Looking at your wings, I think your green base coat could use another pass.