Sign in to follow this  
joesk

77375 Mashaaf. wip

OK this is my first try at a wip post. This will be on the Mashaaf the Great Old one from the bones 2. First thing I will say is that this guy is ugly, in a good way. The other (and I hope the exception) is that his molding in some parts are bad. I have only opened 2 figures so far from my bones 2 ks, the Kraken was pretty good as far as mold lines. This guy on the other hand was not. For the main body I hand carve a lot off and also heat the pieces to the point of melting to get a good fit. Also it has a lot of seam lines that I had to try and clean. Didn't deal with all of them, but tried to get the worst ones.

post-12785-0-25349600-1427903576_thumb.jpg

I have primed him with tan paint because I plan on doing light colors on him. After priming I saw some more lines to cleanup. I am hoping the paints and colors I use will hide some I don't get. Also around the main seam I will use a thicker paint to fill it in (I hope).

post-12785-0-76661900-1427903834_thumb.jpg

This is the most challenging part. The mouth piece was not fitting at all. I did some carving and used to heat to try and reshape it. I will have to use green putty to fill in the rest. Unless I see some other suggestions that are better.

As for the coloring I am going to use the same colors on the wizkids Cthulu figure. So it should look gruesome and icky.

Joe

• Like 13

Here is the assembled mouth before I try and green putty it.post-12785-0-13451500-1427917392_thumb.jpgpost-12785-0-68661300-1427917413_thumb.jpgpost-12785-0-72397400-1427917436_thumb.jpgpost-12785-0-65194200-1427917795_thumb.jpg

I'll fill the gaps and hopefully be able to carve it to look good. It has been many years (30th so) since I have done this so hope it works like I want.

Joe

Edited by joesk
  • Like 9