Alright, this is less showing off and more about getting critiques about my more recent "ambitious but rubbish" project.  I had three goals in mind when doing this one, make him look the part of a nasty angler fish with appropriate coloration, paint corrosion on the copper/brass armor, and attempt to make it look like his lure was glowing with an osl effect.  The latter two things I haven't done before and from the looks of this current effort I still need some practice.

post-13965-0-89843900-1427861695.jpg

post-13965-0-00704800-1427861668.jpg

• Like 16

It's a good start :)

Just needs some tweaking. Not my area of expertise, I am a noob painted as well but I am sure someone else can help.

I think the corrosion does have the look of really corroded copper. When I used to go salt water fishing with my Grandpa there was some thick corrosion on old metal items.

The corrosion effect came out fairly well, especially on the back. I'm not sure if it's just the lighting in the pic, but I think the armor is just a bit too orange to look like copper or brass. (The red/orange tones in copper should be somewhat subtle, and even more so with brass.)

If it's painted orange to match the rest of him, you should probably have more spots of "bare" metal showing through the paint and corrosion - since he's wearing the armor (presumably on a regular basis), any place where the edges of the plates have been rubbing against each other or other objects would have the corrosion chipped off or the paint worn through, showing bare metal underneath. Your highest highlights, particularly on the tips of the spikes, should go right up to a straight metallic copper or brass.