Regular paint, washes and glazes... Oh my (paint to water ratios for thinning)

I'm new to mini painting. And have been having issues with thinning paint, that is being addressed in its own separate thread. But I thought this specific question may deserve it's own thread.

I use reaper paints. And a few GW washes. And I paint bones.

I also realize that the actual answer for this is going to vary from person to person... And it will also vary from project to project. And within a project their will be some variance as well.

After the initial base coat on bones....

What ratio of paint/water do you use for:

Painting

Layering

Washes

Glazes

And as a side note, pre-made washes (such as the ones I'm using from GW...). Do you recommend them? Recommend making your own?

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

• Artists

I am pasting this from another recent thread on the topic. In general, I don't find ratios helpful. Paint consistency and how opaque or transparent a colour is varies from brand to brand, from colour to colour, batch to batch when it's manufactured, and over time as water evaporates from a paint that you own. I prefer to use a more flexible guideline for judging correct paint consistency.

The simple tests I use - 

Basecoat - RMS out of the bottle is usually the correct consistency, but water evaporates out of the bottle slowly over time, and other paint brands vary. You only need to thin it enough that when you draw a brush through it, the 'wake' fills in pretty much immediately. The goal is to paint as few coats as you need to cover, but not to have the paint so thick that the brush strokes leave texture behind.

Wetblend  consistency - most forms of wet blending will use a consistency similar to a basecoat, with maybe a smidge more water.