scuffed miniatures

Cole

I just started painting bones miniatures. I got a starter kit from my boyfriend. It said I didn't need to prime or seal the miniatures, and didn't come with either. I took them to a DND game last night and now I have lots of scufffed edges. I'm wondering what the issue is, lack of primer, the way I painted, sealer, or if we just werent handling them carefully enough. Any tips?

post-14041-0-50619500-1429460638_thumb.jpg

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Brush on sealers are good, but most tend to leave a shiny glossy coat. Either seek out a good matte sealer, or use a matte spray on clear coated glossy minis.

Or exult in your shiny indestructible minis.

• Like 1

It sounds like most people use spray sealer, is the brush on type not as good? I'm not very good with spray cans...

I use both.

Brush on is actually thicker and will protect better, but most are glossy or semi gloss. So I'll do brush on and then when it's dry I'll take it outside and hit it with some spray dull cote (matte) to take down the shine and add more protection.

• Like 1

The shiny is pretty indestructible.

I think that the desire for a matte finish is a current fashion influenced by the needs of photography. There's nothing inherently wrong with a shiny finish.

Getting back to the OP's question, acrylic paints take at least a day to fully dry and can be a little fragile the first few days.

• Like 6

The shiny is pretty indestructible.

I think that the desire for a matte finish is a current fashion influenced by the needs of photography. There's nothing inherently wrong with a shiny finish.

Getting back to the OP's question, acrylic paints take at least a day to fully dry and can be a little fragile the first few days.