Sign in to follow this  
MamaGeek

MamaGeek WIP: Autumn Ranger

This is Bones version of Nienna, Elf Ranger.  Most ranger figures I've seen are painted green or brown, but I thought I'd go for an autumn theme and paint her in red/orange/yellow/brown.  I started by painting the cloak a rusty burghundy, including all the highlights and shadows as if that was the final paint job.  Then I started painting a freehand patchwork leaf pattern.  Each leaf is painted individually, which takes a devilishly long time, I've come to discover.  This is going to take a long time to finish.

And right now she's at one of the those early stages when I can't stand what I'm working on and think it looks terrible.  I've been there so many times before, though, that I will push myself to just keep going, in the hopes it will all turn out right in the end.   :blush:

Here she is so far:

post-4823-0-20923200-1430422045_thumb.jpg

Edited by MamaGeek
  • Like 13

It's awesome.  I have no words... the cloak will be amazing when you are done with it.  I really like how it's started across teh back o fthe hood and across. Are you planning a "cooler" brown to offset the cloak for the leather armor and other accents, or are you keeping it all warm?

@Darkmeer: I haven't thought yet about the overall palette of the piece, only the cloak.  That is going to take so much time that it will keep me busy for a while!

Wow! He already looks more awesome than what I had in mind for my own autumn camo ranger. I didn't even consider lining the foliage pattern itself.

• Like 1

This is looking fantastic so far.  I had a lot of trouble with Nienna, because there was a fair bit of soft and confusing clothing detail on mine that I couldn't quite interpret, and she had no real face to speak of.. hopefully you're not running into the same issues!

• Like 1