Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
ThatDeadGuy

Question regarding Free Actions

Recommended Posts

The following came up in one of my crews games this past weekend and we are seeking clarification.

 

Can a model perform multiple Free Actions in a single activation?

 

Example:

 

Duke Gerrard had a spell cast upon him allowing him to gain Flying as a free action. He then wished to Summon a model (the Angel) as a free action onto the table (using his faction ability I believe). Is this permissible? Also, the troop had already conducted Melee Fight Actions this turn, is the Angel still eligible to conduct a Melee Fight Action once summoned (as it was summoned into b2b contact)?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is no limit on free actions. In regard to the angel attacking after it is summoned, it is a solitaire so it would get an attack if summoned into b2b contact. 

Edited by WolfLord

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Duke Gerrard had a spell cast upon him allowing him to gain Flying as a free action. He then wished to Summon a model (the Angel) as a free action onto the table (using his faction ability I believe). Is this permissible? Also, the troop had already conducted Melee Fight Actions this turn, is the Angel still eligible to conduct a Melee Fight Action once summoned (as it was summoned into b2b contact)?

 

WolfLord addressed the part regarding Free Actions, so I have nothing to add there other than he is correct. However, regarding the actions a summoned model may take on the round they are summoned: no, Uriel would not be able to conduct a Fight action if the rest of the troop had already done so. Although Uriel remains a solitaire, he acts with the troop he was summoned by for the turn. And although the Summoned SA text does say that summoned models may take any one Action after being placed on the board, that action cannot violate the basic mechanics of the game - it only means that summoned models are not restricted to just movement actions. So, in your given example, not only could Uriel not conduct a Fight action (even if summoned into B2B), he would also be unable to conduct a Spellcast action either (as prior to summoning Uriel, a spell was cast on Duke Gerard). So, while Uriel is permitted to take any one Action, the sequence of events in this activation have left him with little more than a Move or Charge as his choices (in most circumstances).

 

~v

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you guys! I am pleased to report that Shakandara exactly the way he played it. So we did things correctly. Thank you both for the replies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...