Sign in to follow this  
VolksFest

Tiviel on lava base

Hello all,

This is my first time in WIP area therefore I am rather excited  :blush:

Secondly I will be trying many new stuff and therefore truly in terra incognita here  :unsure:

So, here goes nothing:

I started with the base since I want a lava base and I want the rocky surface I will place my mini to reflect light coming from the lava.

post-13470-0-83538700-1442162842_thumb.jpg

I chose Vallejo Black Lava for my lava surface but regretted afterwards since I want still molten lava not cooled off lava that is more suitable for Black Lava.. However this is all I have and my local store is out of stuff like white/grey pumice :( 

post-13470-0-47993800-1442163014_thumb.jpg

But, I will try working with what I have and try to get a realistic look. 

post-13470-0-34780600-1442163037_thumb.jpg

This is all I have for now. Your comments are eagerly awaited and will be appreciated immensely since I really dont know what I'm doing :))) 

• Like 11

What you have is a nice texture for lava. Just paint it white. a really bright white, then do a heavy dry brush of orange, making sure to leave some white showing, then a dry brush of red on the tippy tops. Leaving some orange showing. For the cork. Paint it black, dry brush dark brown, dry brush a mid brown, dry brush a light brown. It'll look like she's on a piece of floating cooled lava. Here's what it'll look like. http://forum.reapermini.com/index.php?/topic/57143-77119-sinessa-hell-born-sorceress/

I haven't tried OSL yet for the reflective surface you want, but I'm sure someone will be around to take you through that process.

Hope that helps.

Edited by tiniest rhombus
  • Like 4

Looks good thus far.  Are you intending the chunk to be sort of an island of rock in the stream of lava?  The superlatively diminutive geometroid has the right idea--although I'd probably work in some washes too.

• Like 4