maxstyles

Paint and Take anyone?

Hi everyone,

This may not be the best place to post this question, but it is a request for advice. :;):   There is a local game convention getting started in the area (its in its second year – hey you have to start somewhere).  I am helping out by running a few miniature games and I would love to run a paint and take type of thing.  I have lots of miniatures from the first bones kickstarter, lots of paint, and a few old brushes but what I don’t have is any experience running one of these.  I want to expose new people to our hobby by putting the “miniature monkey†on their backs – er ah I mean joys of painting.  Does anyone know if Reaper still supports this type of thing?  Does anyone have any advice on making this type of event enjoyable for new painters?

Any help is appreciated,

Max

• Like 2

I don't have any experience of running one but as a recent newbie painter, I can tell you what I would be looking for from such a session.  Bear in mind, the advice below only applies to people completely new to painting - you would obv take a completely different approach if you had different levels of painters.

Firstly, you need to be able to run a quick demo of what newbie painters should do and also what they shouldn't do.  Print up a short (make sure its short - don't include everything here) list of do's and don'ts and make sure you go over them quickly (don't take too long as I will be very eager to get started) at the start.  It's important to go over some basics so I have some guidance but, at the same time, you don't want to get in my way for too long before I start putting paint to mini.