Sign in to follow this  
illanthraen

NMM..help a newb to do it

so I have been painting minis for a few years..obviously under a rock because after joining this forum was the first time I ever heard of NMM. It looks fantastic..much cooler than using metallic paints. I can see from pictures that it seems to be a simple basecoat, highlight, highlight more method..but can you master painter people help me out on what it really takes?

I only have so many minis that I can practise on...so I need to find out the best ways.

Okidoki. The secret is, get really smooth gradients(or blends, as they are also called).

They need to run from darkest to brightest over relatively small distances, to avoid the stone armor look. I like to work with at least 4 colors that serve as the block colors for each luminance level within an area. One of these color series would be, FREX, Black, Dark Blue, Grey Blue, Ice Blue, and White. This color progression should work well for a blueish steel look on a sword or piece of armor.

Each distinct surface that comprises a metallic surface on the miniature (like the side of a greave or armguard) needs to be painted as a separate entity, regarding the placement of the shadows and reflection that affect it.

The actual placement of said shadows and reflections depends on the source of light you have selected for your mini, and, for it one needs to study other peoples examples and /or pictures of similarly shaped/lighted items.

Each distinct surface that comprises a metallic surface on the miniature (like the side of a greave or armguard) needs to be painted as a separate entity, regarding the placement of the shadows and reflection that affect it.

Errex, that may be the most succinctly intelligent description of the NMM technique I have ever seen. :wow: