Blackhawk

Basing preference: Plain or detailed?

In a gaming Facebook group I'm a part of, someone asked a question - do you prefer plain black bases, or detailed terrain bases?  The question seemed obvious to me.  When I started painting miniatures, bases were either broccoli or square, and a plain black base was looked at as an unfinished base.  At the very least you sanded and drybrushed or flocked them.

The answers in the group surprised me.  Out of dozens of answers, the overwhelming majority preferred plain bases.  They felt that detailed bases took away from the miniature, and that it was counter-immersive to be playing a game and have a dwarf with a snow base, and elf with a forest base, and a fighter with a desert base wandering around in the same stone floored cave.

It was also notable that the vast majority preferred round bases.  Some of those that did didn't just prefer them, the vehemently hated square bases.  I wonder if some of the change in views on bases are a result of the popularity of the pre-painted D&D minis line over hand painted miniatures over the past decade?

Anyway, it was an interesting enough discussion that I thought I'd bring it here and see what people had to say.

• Like 3

I greatly prefer playing with figures that have scenic bases and making scenic bases even if they "clash" with the current environment that the character in use is in. To me, I do the base to set the mood and COMPLETE the miniature (usually it's a very personal base meant to help tell a little story of where they are from or what they did), I feel that plain black bases distract and make the figure incomplete... My own personal opinion.  I also prefer 25mm (1 inch) square bases as they actually give a little more room to pose figures. I use mine for gaming (D&D), which is why I don't use bases bigger than the 1 inch for medium sized.  

• Like 6