Sign in to follow this  
Pingo

Pingo assays 03681: Nazera Bloodraven, Vampire

Reaper started on the 3600 numbers in 2012, so I think she might date to around 2013. 

I like where you're going with the colors. 

• Like 1

Reaper started on the 3600 numbers in 2012, so I think she might date to around 2013. 

I like where you're going with the colors.

Clearly I am no expert.

I took a break to paint up some Old School lead minis, but I'm back now.

I worked on her face. 

I made the mistake the last time I painted a vampire of using a little warm brown to shade the skin.  That's how I discovered that the presence of even a tiny bit of brown fools the eye into seeing a healthy skin tone.

This one I have painted entirely in pure shades of white and grey (sorry for the blurriness on the second photo).

post-8022-0-70608800-1465163067.jpg post-8022-0-47639700-1465163159.jpg

• Like 20

Washed some transparent Quinacridone Crimson right over her underpainted skirts.  All the Burnt Umber still shows through.

post-8022-0-86751700-1467729307.jpg post-8022-0-36045200-1467729315.jpg

• Like 17

Love the crimson!  Turning into a really cool vampire . . . just make sure she doesn't sparkle in the sun.   ::P:

• Like 2

Yep those eyes make her an adorable vampire!

Edited by Xherman1964
  • Like 1

I laid some Interference Violet and Interference Blue over her armor. 

These pigments are made from microscopic flakes of mica which have been coated with carefully calibrated thicknesses of Titanium White pigment, which in molecule-thin layers acts like an iridescent oil film does on a puddle.

The color shines from some angles and is invisible from others, depending on the lighting.

The effect is striking in person, although a little difficult to photograph.  I tried various angles and lighting configurations to see if I could bring it across.

post-8022-0-23553400-1467904824.jpg post-8022-0-38996900-1467904860.jpg

post-8022-0-55982800-1467904889.jpg