Sign in to follow this  
Gargs

Couple of Quick Paint Questions

So I know that the Liners are all really good for a "primer" for Bones minis, and that the infamous Brown Liner was the first to be discovered for this purpose, but that all of them have been found to be really good.  My question though is that I have read here that some have found the Brown/Blue/Grey Liners to all be pretty similar in color.  Are there are particular advantages to using the different colors of liners if you are using them as a "primer" for Bones, or is getting one of them going to be enough?

Additionally, what are the other main uses for Liners aside from the (not originally intended use of primer for Bones)?  As a newbie, I don't fully understand what it gets used for otherwise yet.  Are they something that eventually I'll be using as I develop more techniques or are they just different consistency/shade/etc.?

Finally, on a completely different note, as I am slowly gathering different colors as I build my collection and start my painting journey, are there any particular colors that seem to just get used a lot?  I know that Walnut Brown is really popular (and I already have at least one bottle from one of the old LTPKs).  Obviously this is highly dependent on what you like to paint, and beauty being in the eye of the beholder, etc.  To that end, most of my stuff is going to be geared toward the fantasy angle as I mainly anticipate painting stuff for RPGs (D&D, Pathfinder, etc.) with the occasional other models thrown in for fun.  But things like Orc flesh, etc. are going to be somewhat common as are armor, weapons, etc.  I know that you can always mix paints too (and heck, that's a big part of the fun in experimenting) but was just curious if there are some particularly useful colors out there that I should be looking to snag since I really don't plan to buy them all (yet).

• Like 2