Jump to content

Losing Weapons - General Call for Clarification


Recommended Posts

This general line of questioning came up around our table when we started firing overcharged PBGs at one another and, inevitably, started rolling some "burnouts," that is, overheats (1 on 1D6) and weapon failures (snakeyes).  

 

  • As previously discussed in a different thread, we know that if I go "out of ammo" when firing a Salvo, then the entire weapon system is shut down, e.g. if my Chancellor fires all 4 MACs and runs out of ammo, then all four MACs are disabled. 
     
  • I infer, then, that if I fire those four MACs individually (we call this a "volley"), then if I run out of ammo for one, then I run out of ammo for all. 
     
  • Are the above points true / similar / identical for weapon overheat or failure?  That is, if my Tyrant fires all 4 PBGs in a Salvo and overheats, are ALL PBGs shut down for one round?  If I burnout (snakeyes) are they ALL disabled? 
     
  • Same goes for firing multiple weapons in a volley - if instead of firing my Ogre's 3 PBGs in a Salvo for improved accuracy, I instead fire a volley, and roll snakeyes on my first shot, does that disable all PBGs or just one?  

 

Thanks in advance for the clarification!  My group and I are working on a more thorough list of FAQs, but we need still more study of the rules and a few more games under our belts first! 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

  • Reaper User

For the sake of game play it affects all weapons of that type as a whole at the end of the attack. So in your final question/example you would still roll all three attacks during that activation but the double 1 roll result would apply to all of the weapons next activation.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is a comment from CAVBOSS over on Facebook. Don't know how 'official' this is but it gives an idea of what he's thinking for the game.

 

"Jon Walker Overdrive: Critical Failure and Critical Fumble is the same thing, a roll of double 1s. Some of the following is coming as an errata update so it is a little different than what's currently listed. When shooting PBGs, regardless if a single-rolled or salvo attack, you will roll 1d6 only once after making the required combat rolls. On a 1, the PBGs (all of them) have over-heated and cannot be used the following turn. If any of the combat rolls are a double 1, the PBGs (all of them) will automatically over-heat, resulting in the loss of them for a turn. There will no longer be any weapon failure."

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Reaper User

Let me clarify a bit more as we have adjusted the comment from FB since I put that up as we get the clarification finalized for the errata update...

 

For Ammo/Limited Ammo...

If you roll a critical fumble (double ones) on your target point to-hit roll, and you then roll a 1 on a 1d6 (or a 2 on a limited ammo weapon), you have jammed/run out of ammo for that specific weapon type (for example: all of your MACs) for the remainder of the game. At any point, if you have the Ammo Bin SA and have not yet used it all up, you can clear/reload and be ready to shoot again on your next activation. If you choose to hold using it and have another weapon system type also jam/run out of ammo, when you declare its use it will also clear/reload that weapon system as well. The effect of an ammo jam/out of ammo effects every weapon system of the same type at the end of your current activation. So even if you jam on the first to-hit roll, you are allowed to complete the attack.

 

PBGs...

Overdrive: Critical Failure and Critical Fumble is the same thing, a roll of double 1s. Some of the following is coming as an errata update so it is a little different than what's currently listed. When shooting PBGs and using the SA Overcharge, regardless if a single-rolled or salvo attack, you will roll 1d6 for EACH PBG fired after making the required combat rolls. On any roll of a 1, the PBGs (all of them) have over-heated and cannot be used the following turn. If any of the combat rolls are a double 1, the PBGs (all of them) will have over-charged, resulting in the loss of them for the remainder of the game.

 

When making Shock or Pilot Checks...

You will only need to roll 2d6 once, using the worst of any modifiers (if any), regardless of the number of successful hits, per attacker at the end of their attack. If a new attacker is also successful in requiring these type of rolls you will be required to make the roll again.

 

Pilot Check and suppression...

If you are not currently suppressed and you get the pilot check/suppression result, you do not subtract the suppression modifier (-2) from the pilot roll as it does not go into effect until the end of the current attackers activation. You would still apply any negative mods required by the pilot roll result itself.

 

Hopefully that is clear, I'm still a little shell-shocked after the show! ')

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Similar Content

    • By Inarah
      "Starting with the latest expansion to the GURPS Action series (see Warehouse 23), your pledge of $3 secures you a PDF copy of GURPS Action 8 - Twists. This 10-page PDF, written by Sean Punch, aims to shake things up. "
       

       
      https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/warehouse23/steve-jackson-games-gurps-2021-pdf-challenge?
       
      10 PDFs for as little as $3 seems like a deal. 
    • By Mckenna35
      Picked up a bunch of the CAV terrain before Christmas t use for CAV and/or 28mm sci-fi gaming. Have been working my way through it and thought I'd post what I've finished so far.
       
      72607 Ammo dump

       
      72608 Fuel dump
       
       

       
      72610 Short Containers (3x sets)

       
      72615 Bunkers

       
      72611 Generators

       
      Generator with a couple of 28mm Warlord figures to show how it looks in that scale

    • By Kireek
      An ongoing collection of Reaper miniatures that I have brought to completion.
       
      REAPER  77623   Avatar of Courage
       



      REAPER 77489 Bregan Valkyrie
       
       



    • By CAVBOSS
      Set aside some time for our 2nd virtual gaming convention coming March 26-27! We are currently working on a full line of events that will include online gaming, special guests, virtual painting contest, and much more! Special miniatures and prizes will also be available.
      We are looking for more content contributors and would love to host your event! Please email us at cavcon(at)talon-games(dot)com ASAP! www.twitch.tv/talongamesonline
       
      MAINVIRTUAL CC 2021 MAIN_2.mp4
    • By MusicalFeline
      Brief word of introduction. I know next to nil about CAV. My current interest in it is solely from a painting perspective. With that in mind, please excuse any blunders I make.
       
      So, I'm a painter looking for some cool stuff to paint. I see CAV's mechs. I think "I like mechs, those look cool, I think I'll grab some". Then my eyes flicker upwards towards where it says "10mm scale". I think you can see where this is going.
       
      Long story short, how big are these? It looks like they come on 1" hexes, and $4.99-$6.99 is quite a lot to charge for a small mini (in my opinion, of course).
       
      Many thanks, all!
  • Who's Online   10 Members, 1 Anonymous, 34 Guests (See full list)

×
×
  • Create New...