Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Losing Weapons - General Call for Clarification

Recommended Posts

This general line of questioning came up around our table when we started firing overcharged PBGs at one another and, inevitably, started rolling some "burnouts," that is, overheats (1 on 1D6) and weapon failures (snakeyes).  


  • As previously discussed in a different thread, we know that if I go "out of ammo" when firing a Salvo, then the entire weapon system is shut down, e.g. if my Chancellor fires all 4 MACs and runs out of ammo, then all four MACs are disabled. 
  • I infer, then, that if I fire those four MACs individually (we call this a "volley"), then if I run out of ammo for one, then I run out of ammo for all. 
  • Are the above points true / similar / identical for weapon overheat or failure?  That is, if my Tyrant fires all 4 PBGs in a Salvo and overheats, are ALL PBGs shut down for one round?  If I burnout (snakeyes) are they ALL disabled? 
  • Same goes for firing multiple weapons in a volley - if instead of firing my Ogre's 3 PBGs in a Salvo for improved accuracy, I instead fire a volley, and roll snakeyes on my first shot, does that disable all PBGs or just one?  


Thanks in advance for the clarification!  My group and I are working on a more thorough list of FAQs, but we need still more study of the rules and a few more games under our belts first! 

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

For the sake of game play it affects all weapons of that type as a whole at the end of the attack. So in your final question/example you would still roll all three attacks during that activation but the double 1 roll result would apply to all of the weapons next activation.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is a comment from CAVBOSS over on Facebook. Don't know how 'official' this is but it gives an idea of what he's thinking for the game.


"Jon Walker Overdrive: Critical Failure and Critical Fumble is the same thing, a roll of double 1s. Some of the following is coming as an errata update so it is a little different than what's currently listed. When shooting PBGs, regardless if a single-rolled or salvo attack, you will roll 1d6 only once after making the required combat rolls. On a 1, the PBGs (all of them) have over-heated and cannot be used the following turn. If any of the combat rolls are a double 1, the PBGs (all of them) will automatically over-heat, resulting in the loss of them for a turn. There will no longer be any weapon failure."

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Let me clarify a bit more as we have adjusted the comment from FB since I put that up as we get the clarification finalized for the errata update...


For Ammo/Limited Ammo...

If you roll a critical fumble (double ones) on your target point to-hit roll, and you then roll a 1 on a 1d6 (or a 2 on a limited ammo weapon), you have jammed/run out of ammo for that specific weapon type (for example: all of your MACs) for the remainder of the game. At any point, if you have the Ammo Bin SA and have not yet used it all up, you can clear/reload and be ready to shoot again on your next activation. If you choose to hold using it and have another weapon system type also jam/run out of ammo, when you declare its use it will also clear/reload that weapon system as well. The effect of an ammo jam/out of ammo effects every weapon system of the same type at the end of your current activation. So even if you jam on the first to-hit roll, you are allowed to complete the attack.



Overdrive: Critical Failure and Critical Fumble is the same thing, a roll of double 1s. Some of the following is coming as an errata update so it is a little different than what's currently listed. When shooting PBGs and using the SA Overcharge, regardless if a single-rolled or salvo attack, you will roll 1d6 for EACH PBG fired after making the required combat rolls. On any roll of a 1, the PBGs (all of them) have over-heated and cannot be used the following turn. If any of the combat rolls are a double 1, the PBGs (all of them) will have over-charged, resulting in the loss of them for the remainder of the game.


When making Shock or Pilot Checks...

You will only need to roll 2d6 once, using the worst of any modifiers (if any), regardless of the number of successful hits, per attacker at the end of their attack. If a new attacker is also successful in requiring these type of rolls you will be required to make the roll again.


Pilot Check and suppression...

If you are not currently suppressed and you get the pilot check/suppression result, you do not subtract the suppression modifier (-2) from the pilot roll as it does not go into effect until the end of the current attackers activation. You would still apply any negative mods required by the pilot roll result itself.


Hopefully that is clear, I'm still a little shell-shocked after the show! ')

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Similar Content

    • By CAVBOSS
      Set aside some time for our 2nd virtual gaming convention coming March 26-27! We are currently working on a full line of events that will include online gaming, special guests, virtual painting contest, and much more! Special miniatures and prizes will also be available.
      We are looking for more content contributors and would love to host your event! Please email us at cavcon(at)talon-games(dot)com ASAP! www.twitch.tv/talongamesonline
      MAINVIRTUAL CC 2021 MAIN_2.mp4
    • By MusicalFeline
      Brief word of introduction. I know next to nil about CAV. My current interest in it is solely from a painting perspective. With that in mind, please excuse any blunders I make.
      So, I'm a painter looking for some cool stuff to paint. I see CAV's mechs. I think "I like mechs, those look cool, I think I'll grab some". Then my eyes flicker upwards towards where it says "10mm scale". I think you can see where this is going.
      Long story short, how big are these? It looks like they come on 1" hexes, and $4.99-$6.99 is quite a lot to charge for a small mini (in my opinion, of course).
      Many thanks, all!
    • By Werkrobotwerk
      I had painted a flail as a test model, and then decided to do a group since it was an easy color scheme.
      had too many tags, but it's a pillager, wolverine, flail, outlaw, and poltergeist 

    • By Standifer
      So I finally fell into the temptation and got my first ground based sci fi minis!(I do have spaceships.) 
      A Cataphract, conquerer , and a halberd by Reaper minis came in with my horsman today! Sadly the halberd is missing a piece so it may in end up being returned. 
      So my first order of business was a small conversion to the cataphract
      Before conversion

      And the conquerer has donated the necessary parts for said conversion, specifically his smaller missile pods.

      A bit of work with an exacto knife removed said weapons.

      And a bit more exacto work to make a spot for the pods on the Cataphract.

      Some super glue to assemble the cataphract and voila! It is time for paint!

      And don’t worry about the Conquerer, I have a conversion in mind for it too. It just might not be a true mech when I’m done.......

      More sci-fi stuff to come soon I hope!
      And maybe just maybe I’ll try to make a backstory for these guys.
      Thankyou for looking! 
    • By Jasper_the_2nd
      Hey look, yet another Jasper topic.....
      But this one is different (I hope).  I actually have a time frame in mind, to get this finished before the end of 2020, and submitted for the annual diorama contest.
      I love dioramas, and I've been pretty happy with the few I've made. BUT I always put off getting started and then end up rushing over Christmas to get everything done.
      So this year I'm starting in January (if just barely) so that I will hopefully get some stuff done before December.
      I've had the idea for this diorama since the very first moment I saw my first "sneak preview" of Khanjira (that would have been approximately Fri, Oct 25, 2013, 7:57 PM ADT, according to when I got the email from Kickstarter).
      My first though was something like "What a beast! Imagine if he was fighting something from a smaller scale, like CAV...."
      So that has been bouncing around in my head ever since.  
      Then I was messaging with @Pochi a few weeks ago about the contests and got talking about dioramas, and I mentioned this idea, and she said I HAD to do it.....so here we are. 
      Basic concept is the classic Kaiju attacking a future city harbour. CAVs (any or all of tanks, vehicles, mechs, infantry, maybe even aircraft) defending. (I briefly considered going even smaller scale as I have quite a bit of 6mm stuff too, but CAVs are easier to work with,  I have about a billion of them, and they are awesome).
      Today was a beginning.  I grabbed some stuff and laid it out just to get an idea of a size I'm going to want.

      Obviously I just grabbed what was handy to get some scale. Khanjira is represented by my 7 days Khanjira (handy, that ). I plan to try to get him a little more upright, since he won't be on his base and at least his front foot will be "under water". With his pose (which I don't think I have the skill or know how to adjust too much) I'm thinking maybe an elevated highway that he has just crushed to be what his right leg is on.  That or a boat of some sort....we'll see.
      The box is just a reference for the land, glasses are just some buildings.  I'm picturing something similar to the Halifax waterfront with boardwalks or something and docks/jetties (the grey upside down drawer represents) and then big buildings. Army will be in place along the waterfront, so some barricades and stuff. Possibly a trench of energy blasted ruin from the "breath weapon" if I think I can pull that off.  Again, we'll see.
      So just from the mock up, this is going to be fairly massive...like approaching 2 foot kind of dimensions 
      Not something I would do if I was following advice on building award winning dioramas, but then that's not what I'm focusing on.  I just want to make the image in my mind a reality, and I'm using the contest deadline to hopefully focus me.
      I'm also going to have to learn to do a bunch of new stuff for this, which should be fun!
      Step one will be to dig out my other Khanjira and start cleaning up up.  And decide on what I'm going to use for a base for this thing.....
  • Who's Online   8 Members, 0 Anonymous, 36 Guests (See full list)

  • Create New...