Sign in to follow this  
Cranky Dog

Sir Justin For$ale & Sir Forscale Grand Surveyor

This project  was overflowing with "first times" for me.

- First ForScales I've ever done.

- First time doing mods.

- First time using epoxy putty (Tamiya).

- First time scuplting, minis or otherwise.

- First pics of completed minis I've ever taken. (And I've been hanging around here for over three years).

- First time taking pics with a proper backdrop (printed it out)

- First time I've shared pics of my minis.

- First time I've started a post in the Show Off sub-forum.

- First time I've painted for a contest.

• Like 15

Sir Justin For$ale. I'm not totally sure where I got the idea for For$ale aside of the pun, but I knew I wanted that dollar sign on the shield. The dollar sign sword was a bonus if I could find some sculpting material. Apparently Green Stuff doesn't exist in this town. So I was about to use some FIMO polymer clay when I stumbled upon some Tamiya two part epoxy. From reading up on everyone's experience with GS, Tamiya epoxy does not seem to act the same way, but I did manage. I did the money bags first, the dollar sign sword next. It felt like working with old chewing gum. I used heavy sewing thread for the bags' ropes.

Grand Surveyor Forscale was an Idea I had for a long time. Originally, I just wanted a graded sword, but it was done before. So I went with the idea of a surveyor's look. You know, the guys that stand outside measuring distances and figure out where borders start and end. I was lucky in stumbling upon some aluminum rods at the hobby shop and they fit perfectly in the sword hand. An since I was able to glue the rod to the base, I could get a pretty accurate half inch measurements. All in all, it's accurate for anything 3 inches tall.