I was having some trouble finding a monk miniature that I liked for my D&D character, so I decided to learn how to use greenstuff to make my own. I played around with it and looked up different tutorials but so far this is my third sculpt, and my second using an armature. Anywho, enough about all that nonsense. 

post-15198-0-67733500-1474219499_thumb.jpg

There's a lot I have to learn, so any criticism and advice would be very helpful! 

Here's a shot with the reference photo in the back.

post-15198-0-05192800-1474219492_thumb.jpg

• Like 18
  • 3 weeks later...

Dang good, especially for your 3rd!!

Thank you, I am an artist so I paint and draw a lot, but never sculpted.  The art training seems to help my sculpting though. 

Your knowledge of anatomy and the physics of how objects interact with each other applies equally to both disciplines. Being able to draw an item in a two-dimensional picture requires being able to visualize it in three dimensions, and the majority of miniature sculpting is additive rather than reductive, so in essence you're really just "painting" the putty onto the figure...

I find that for most new sculptors, it's the lack of artistic background - and thus the lack of detailed knowledge of anatomy and object physics - that tends to trip them up as proportion and perspective are a lot harder to learn than the basic skills of how to push the putty around...

Outside of a couple of looong, long ago art classes in school, most of my art knowledge comes from my image manipulation work, but what I've learned there helps to inform my mini painting and sculpting, and vise versa...

The obligatory standard advice for anyone - work on blending your edges and the crispness of your details...

What sort of tools are you using for your sculpting?

Edited by Mad Jack
  • Like 1
  • 3 weeks later...