My daughter is showing interest in sculpting.

So the other day my daughter decided she wanted to make her own Shopkins minis and had her mommy buy some air dry clay with her own money she has saved up.  She got it Friday and went to town.  I remembered that I had some sculpting tools I bought for using the green stuff on our minis that needed  gaps filled and gave them to her.  She made a few things but has no clue really how to do anything and I have zero experience.  

Are there any resources that may be good for a 7 year old to get some idea on the basics?  She is ready to paint the couple of things she made and have already dried.

Pic attached for the "AWWWW" factor. :)

post-12234-0-07220200-1487468793_thumb.jpg

• Like 17
  • Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

AWWWWW! I have been following Tom Mason's sculpting series on youtube, but that is more focused on fantasy minis. But I'm sure there will be lots of things on youtube ... probably even lots of shopkins-specific stuff. Someone remind me, how did we learn new skills before youtube?

Also, put her to work making bases for you :)

• Like 1

Have her do some animals or masks of some of her favorite cartoon characters. Maybe start easier and ask her to do a small clay pot. You could help encourage her by paying for her sculpts so she can buy more materials, or candy, whatever, she'll learn her work gets her something in return besides the enjoyment of it. Maybe you could set up challenges for her, sculpt a fish, sculpt a mask, clay finger puppets of classic fantasy heroes, a pretty little tree. I bet she'd have more fun sculpting things she is interested in so whatever that is, encourage it. As for how to do it, there's lots of youtube vids about it she could watch while she sculpts. Is there a Bob Ross of sculpting out there?

• Like 2