Sign in to follow this  
redpiano

Do any oven hardening clays handle like green stuff or magic sculpt?

I aim to learn how to sculpt and I'm trying to find the right material for me, I really dislike Fimo, Beesputty and Sculpey, they all seem to behave exactly the same and I end up tearing up the surface with my color shapers and other tools, water as a lubricant seems to make it worse and I can't use vaseline because it makes it impossible to add more material if I need to.

I really like working with magic sculpt and green stuff, but as a beginner I don't want to be worried constantly about time. If I can't find a solution to the polymer clay problem and find a clay that handles similarly to epoxy putties, I -will- use green stuff or magic sculpt, but I'd like to see if anyone knows of an alternative or can tell me how to make green stuff take 48 hours to dry instead of 1-2 hours ;)

Thanks.

I've tried mixing sculpey with green stuff, but usually it's just a small amount of sculpey. It extends the working time of the greenstuff just slightly, and makes it handle a little more like the sculpey. I would try mixing them in various proportions and see how you like the different mixes, and how long they last. I doubt you will get up to 48 hours that way though.

• Like 1

I must get back to practicing with Fimo; I also struggle with it and have that same issue of Fimo tearing, but I've seen how easily some expert sculptors handle the stuff! Try brushing on J&J Baby Oil to smooth Fimo (and other brands of polymer clay).

Greenstuff: If you want it to stay soft for longer, mix in a bit of polymer clay; I've tried Fimo and Sculpey Extra Firm. They both work.

Personally, I currently favour a 60/40 or 70/30 mix of GreenStuff + BrownStuff (BrownStuff is a nuisance to mix if it's not warm). It has a short working time, but I mix very small amounts at a time and add only tiny amounts - it seems to me that what you don't add is what creates the shapes.