60073_g_1.jpg

Next up in my painting journey for my current Pathfinder game.  The Stag Lord, a.k.a. the first Big Bad that the party will encounter (likely at the next session, so I may need to speed up the painting process near the end to get him done).  This is also proving to be my first "Moby Dick" mini, or perhaps "Murphy's Law" if you prefer.  When I first opened him up, I learned that he was missing his bow arm.  While it's certainly plausible he'll lose that arm when he encounters the PCs, it seemed a bit premature to me.  :)  Fortunately, Reaper Customer Service is awesome and even though it was months after I had placed the order, they still replaced the entire mini for free, which is doubly awesome since as a newbie painter I don't have a lot of random extra bits lying about for basing materials, conversions, etc., so getting a full package was pretty sweet (even though I'd have been thrilled with just the one missing piece).

Next thing I noticed as I assembled this guy was that he required a lot of gap filling.  The helm was a rather loose fit and the cloak didn't really line up in back either.  Ironically, this actually didn't bother me much since i saw it as a chance to practice my gap filling which I have not had to do too much of to date.  So with that out of the way, I set about priming and getting the base coat on the skin done.

58d56bb1dc242_StagLord.thumb.jpg.4735d637ecdeda0c6f441d6656043e05.jpg

Can't really see it here, but I then noticed a weird issue on the skin.  For some reason, the paint on his skin began to crack.  This is puzzling to me as I am not sure what could be causing it.  I had used the same bottle of paint very recently (like less than a week ago) with no problems.  Any thoughts on what could have caused it?  I've gone over it with another coat and will see how it holds up, but hopefully he won't need a Simple Green Bath.  That said, I'm open to suggestions here.