Sign in to follow this  
gerb

01601 Domur High Mage

I thought I'd post my pics of how far I've gotten so far here too in case anyone is interested, feel free to give me some pointers, I'm a clueless newbie at this.

I've left the fire for tomorrow because it's terrifying.

20170324_001655[1].jpg

20170324_001607[1].jpg

20170324_001543[1].jpg

20170323_224245[1].jpg

Edited by gerb
  • Like 9

Finished off most of my work on this guy... Some touch ups I am considering is putting some more orange into the flames, changing the color of the faces (maybe silver?), maybe adding some shine to the gem in the staff.

Any other advice or thoughts are welcome.  Tell me what you think!

20170325_134945[1].jpg

20170325_135009[1].jpg

20170325_134854[1].jpg

• Like 14

Nice work so far! I like the OSL you have started.

For a critique, I think you could punch up the highlights on the cloak quite a bit.

• Like 1

Ah, the dreaded OSL, or object/other source lighting!

Ok, while Rhonda(Wren) is the master of this, I'm going to to give a few pointers she gave me that helped me think about light differently.

First, the light source, in this case the fire, should always be the lightest portion of the figure.  It's the only place I'll use pure white when I'm highlighting, although I may come close in areas near the fire.

cvcandle.jpg.944cc2365a3efe2fd186bc86d10a204f.jpg

Ok, I pull in this painting because I love how van Honthorst uses light.  We can see that candle, even though it's hidden behind the figure, because of the highlights on the woman and the shadows putting the other two figures in near darkness.  We can mimic this!  All we have to do is remember to highlight areas around our light source first, as if they were in bright light.

775a8a03-3b4a-428c-9579-4667d72101d2_zps