Sign in to follow this  
Maledrakh

Maledrakh's Bones 3 Mystic Circle

VERY WELL DONE! The Stones painted up BEAUTIFULLY; a FINE array of colors & some SPLENDID brushwork. The ground cover is LOVELY; it completes the piece perfectly.

These are awesome stones!  If I could get my terrain from Dragons Don't Share II to look like a slightly more muted version of this I'd be happy.  Spoiler: it won't.

I've very little experience doing any kind of terrain base for miniatures.  What did you stick the stones on before apply the grass tufts and such?  If you're feeling generous, I'd appreciate a paragraph on what you did.

19 hours ago, Genghis_Sean said:

I've very little experience doing any kind of terrain base for miniatures.  What did you stick the stones on before apply the grass tufts and such?  If you're feeling generous, I'd appreciate a paragraph on what you did.

Generous is my middle name ::P:

If I understand you correctly, you would like to know what the bases are made of?

This henge is actually wholly made by Reaper like this, bases included. You can find it here: http://www.reapermini.com/Miniatures/mystic circle/latest/77556

At any rate, such a set of standing stones can be DIY made with some styrofoam for the stones and some stiff board of some kind for the base. You can use PVA white woodworking glue for this, just make sure to leave it to dry overnight before touching them again. If you want a more interesting surface to the stones, you can coat them with PVA and stick some scraps of textured tissue paper (common kitchen tissue) here and there, together with some sand for effect, papier mache style.