Gary Pryor

Learning to paint with Bones Pt2

"finished" a very plain Iron Golem yesterday, and did the townsfolk today. Looking for anything specific tips that might help me, as I am brand new to painting. Really struggling with skin tone today.

IMG-2556.JPG

IMG-2557.JPG

IMG-2560.JPG

IMG-2561.JPG

IMG-2562.JPG

IMG-2563.JPG

• Like 9

Looking good so far! You say you're having issues with your skin tones, some of them are looking a little yellow. Perhaps you could try something with a more peach-like shade?

• Like 1

What are you priming with? If you are priming with a dark color, it will take more layers of your thinned paint to achieve the actual color you are going for. Fun little townsfolk! Off to a nice start taking a dent out of Bones 3!

Nice minis!

Look around for tips.

Start with this and also look on youtube for vids on painting fantasy miniatures.

http://forum.reapermini.com/index.php?/topic/65355-directory-of-tips-advice-resources/

http://forum.reapermini.com/index.php?/topic/74886-skinflesh-paint-recommendations/#comment-1560229

• Like 1

The first 2 townsfolk look kind of like Zombies. If that is what you wanted, you succeeded. More likely it was not. Reaper has a series of Triads for various Skin tones. I highly recommend getting 2 or 3 of those soon. The Triads have three paints that go well together, including a Highlight, a Mid-Tone and a Shadow tone. they make Skin tones a lot easier in particular!

Otherwise, the Halfling looks good as a Goblin like critter. I may have to do something like that with a couple of mine.

I'll post some more once I'm more awake in the morning.

GF

• Like 4

10 minutes ago, Generic Fighter said: