Time to start painting again. Figured I'd pick up where I left off, and that is with (the old) Learn to Paint Kit #5. The dwarf is painted, but I never got around to the paladin before moving cross-country. So here she is, bare:

image1.JPG.6b744afea57690deba3275cc9b7a276f.JPG

And primed:

image2.JPG.5a08aa533bd379b900c511a6103aee30.JPGimage3.JPG.11950e61dbcccedbf16315fd27a5b4eb.JPG

I thought posting a WIP would help me track my progress a bit better, and force me to not chicken out of finishing her up. I'm still a beginner, after all.

Edited by Sophie was taken
  • Like 5

She'll be a fun one! I did her this spring as part of my coming-out-of-hiatus re-learning curve. 

A WIP thread will definitely help. People tend to be eager to give feedback and pointers to beginners :poke:

• Like 1

Behold, the undercoating:

image1.JPG.83ab0d46f0a86bc2841c2dc528aa0742.JPGimage2.JPG.c3e36d99d019016348b75b92bc172c85.JPG

This wasn't easy. The dark blue/brown went down first, then Oiled Leather for what will be golden. Then another go with the blue to cover up all the spots I accidentally got Leather on. <_< I don't think I'll be able to get the dark spots in the chain the same as the instructions show, it's simply beyond my current abilities.

It was surprising to see the details pop out when the light brown went on, I wasn't always sure what I was working toward beforehand. I suppose another touch up will be in order before proceeding further (and hopefully fix those boots), then it's on the the fun stuff. 

As an aside, the kit has you paint this mini and Dain Deepaxe the dwarf in basically the same colors. I painted Dain a couple years ago and it went surprisingly well. Rasia is quite a challenge in comparison, but it feels good making it this far after so long.

Edited by Sophie was taken
  • Like 7