Sign in to follow this  
jonaas33

Kavorgh, Orc Warboss

Painted this guy up for an upcoming campaign.  The party should get terrified by a large group of orcs and trolls.  If they do any scouting they will be able to discover that the whole group is blind, but still pretty effective a fight.  The real trick will be if they do enough exploring during the adventure, they'll actually come across a powerful devil that is bargaining for major power, for the minor cost of one of their senses.  The eye marking on the shield signifies the cost of sight.  The party will be able to barter their senses, or fight the devil.

The fig originally had a bunch of gloves and spikes coming out of the shield that I wasn't a huge fan of, so I snipped them off with a nail clipper.  If I could do it over, I would have used something to smooth it out a little more before I started painting.  I'm also not overly pleased with the gold colored boots, so I may go over them some day with a different paint.  Overall, pretty pleased with how it turned out though.  Of course, I appreciate any critiques and advice!  Thanks!

20171001_200557.jpg

20171001_200635.jpg

20171001_200648.jpg

20171001_200702.jpg

• Like 19

Good one. I agree with glitterwolf, eyes need some more love. Either a black dot on white or (my own preference) two white dots on black (almond shaped) eye. 

• Like 1

I would have the eyes a pale yellow-brown highlighted in white (yellow orche mixed with lots of white, and highlighted with white), they white they currently have is to bright. The theme is nice.

I like how you did the skin. Thought the red needs deeper shadows (a purple-ish or green-ish shadow would be nice) or maybe a highlight with some orange. Thought that may be due to my phylosophy of if you make the miniature black and white, the shadows should aproach black while the highlights should be near white (depending on position in relation to light source).

• Like 1