CaptMini

Goldar the Barbarian (now with snow and bloody axe!) - 03461 - Artist: M. Gubser

I'm a noob (about 5-6 weeks of painting) but am happy with this guy and his rusty armor!

Would love some C & C from anyone though!

IMG_1465.thumb.jpg.d7be4e116e8b1a5727c11241ce372ce9.jpg

IMG_1466.jpg

IMG_1467.jpg

IMG_1468.jpg

IMG_1469.jpg

IMG_1470.jpg

Edited by CaptMini
  • Like 15

He looks good!

A couple comments might be to just work on thinning your paints a bit to just smooth the transitions from shadow to highlight (I am still working on this myself).   I also think the rust might be a bit thick but that could be just personal preference. Here's a good video for painting rust without having to use technical paint. 

I would recommend watch a lot of Dr Faust videos.  Its really helped me a lot!

You are off to a great start though!  Keep up the good work!

Oh and welcome!  This is a really friendly place!  So look around and don't be afraid to ask questions.  There are many great painters around here that are always willing to help!

Edited by NecroMancer
  • Like 3

Thanks Internet Friend,

I have seen a few of those Dr Faust vids and like them--My favorite guy to watch is Tabletop Minions, especially when they have Sam Lenz as a guest painter - He's Amaaaaaaazing!

1 hour ago, CaptMini said:

Thanks Internet Friend,

I have seen a few of those Dr Faust vids and like them--My favorite guy to watch is Tabletop Minions, especially when they have Sam Lenz as a guest painter - He's Amaaaaaaazing!

He really is a great painter but he's a brush licker so I find him extremely hard to watch. 

• Haha 1

Looks good!

I like the skin and the snow adds a nice touch.

As for the blood on the axe, to make blood on weapons appear more natural, use a dark red, thin it, apply with a sponge or dab it on.

That way you get patches of blood instead of a red stroke.

Keep up the good work!

• Thanks 1

Create an account or sign in to comment