Sign in to follow this  
HolkDiggity

ReaperCon 2018: A Noob's Perspective

4 hours ago, HolkDiggity said:

I've been to a few conventions in the past, most of them for gaming. (PAX, TooManyGames, SteelCityCon, etc.) I'd like to share a few of my observations about ReaperCon, as I really do believe that it was the best convention I've ever been to.

I'm a relatively new painter. I started in July of 2017 after buying the Dark Souls board game. After starting a D&D group, I quickly found Reaper, and so on and so forth.

My main goal at ReaperCon was to learn. I took as many classes as I felt I could handle without burning out. I learned something new in each class that I took. I also began seeing the common threads that linked each of these painting techniques together. This was largely due to the fantastic teachers. Not only knowledgeable and patient, giving special attention to each student, but every teacher that I had was so humble! (I'm looking at you, Mr. Ridolfi!)

Between classes, I attempted a few of the themed painting events at Ludo's tables. I really, really enjoyed the "Paint By Die Roll". Aside from being just a crazy idea, it was a great lesson in utilizing odd colors in effective ways. Sophie Says was hilarious madness, and I loved seeing what everyone did!

I didn't get to do some stuff that sounded great, like the modification contest on Sunday, or the tour of Reaper HQ, but those are things that I'm really looking forward to next year.

The fun events, classes, and cool things to do are one thing, but a convention is really about the people, and this is where ReaperCon really shined. I've said this before, but every single person that I met was great. People were friendly, courteous, and in good spirits, and it really made me feel like I was among friends. I know this sounds cheesy, but I felt like I was among "my people".