Sign in to follow this  
VanStatten

Painting Khanjira but in The Tarrasque Colors

I have just put together my Khanjira: the World Breaker. I'm new to the world of painting, I would like to paint him in the color scheme or the Tarrasque from the Monster Manual 5th Edition. Would any of you know the colors/ names/ SKU codes/ Product numbers and brushes I would need for this project. I've looked into 2 Reaper Bones Starter Kits on Amazon... one for painting and one for dry brushing. I imagine they won't have all the colors I need. So any help would be wonderful. Thank you!

Monster_Manual_5e_-_Tarrasque_-_Cory_Trego-Erdner_-_p287.jpg

• Like 3

Wow, will Khanjira be your first mini? That's awesome. I'd have been terrified of painting something that big when I started painting. Go for it!

Ok, so I am one guy on the internet. There are a lot of great advice-givers here, and there are a lot of ways to paint miniatures, so their some salt in with what I'm about to say. Also, I'm assuming you're brand new to painting anything at all, so if I'm giving definitions where you already know a thing, please forgive me)

So, it's a pretty large surface to cover. I might suggest picking up a couple of craft paints for your base coat, just because they're less expensive. Once you've got a full, even basecoat down, using Reaper's paints to hit details and work in highlights and shadows will get good results.

If you don't know, craft paints are the acrylic paint you can find really easily at stores like Michael's or Hobby Lobby, common brands are Apple Barrel and Folk Art. They have less pigment density than the paints made specifically for miniatures (so they're cheaper). A lot of miniatures painters use them for larger, less detailed items like terrain. Although you can use them for more detailed work (and many do), the miniatures paint will make the work easier. For a basecoat on something like Khanjira, the craft paints will work pretty well.