Jasonator

Jasonator does Syrio Forel carved by Tom Meier

For those of you that know me, I cut my teeth on Tom Meier carvings, and I have made it a habit of painting anything that he has put

out that I can get my paws and brush on.  I was given Syrio Forel (DSM-5133) before my move.  I started painting him this week, along with

another two others Meier Sculpts.  I will mount him on a created base when I finish painting him.  Meier sculpts are ALWAYS a challenge.  They are

small and intricate, they also, at times, carry a surprise feature buried in a fold or underneath a caparison to paint.  So here is where I am on this miniature,

a day after I started work on it.  I do NOT use colors straight from a bottle, a color wheel is a close friend.  Jasonator.

Syrio1.jpg

Syrio2.jpg

• Like 20

Good start.

This guy got a great pose, maybe when basing he might need a critter he's trying to keep at bay?

A snake? A Wolf?

Or maybe even go bigger and find him a human to duel with?

Or a defeated enemy laying there, waiting for the final blow or sign of mercy?

Edited by Glitterwolf
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I remember seeing a photo of Tom Meier sculpting. He was lying on his back (he has trouble with his back) & using a binocular microscope.

It explains why his details are so impossibly small & difficult to pick out.

All that aside, you are off to a FINE start. I love the leather work.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

Another idea,

Maybe he's opening a chest with that sword?

From a safe distance in case there are traps!

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

I am actually thinking (way ahead at this point) of having him pointing that sword at a Sun Flower,

and having the flower shy left or right like it is avoiding the cut.

Just how my brain is working this morning.

Oh, and this puppy is NO EASY paint..sheesh !

Jay

Syrio3.jpg

Syrio4.jpg

Edited by Jasonator
Didn't have photo's ready.
  • Like 12

7 minutes ago, malefactus said:

Sunflowers are wily opponents.

Tis true !!!