So I'm going to be making a diorama for a friend soon. I have a pretty solid idea of what I want to do but no idea how to go about it. I've never worked with cork before and am going to be using quite a bit of it. I want to pour water effects(?) into it but don't want the cork to soak it up. My questions are (photos to be added below for reference):

• How do I seal the cork so it won't absorb the resin water effects?
  • Do I need to seal the wood I am basing it on as well?
    • If so what is the best way to do that?
  • What is the best glue to put the cork on the wood, sealed or not?

ETA: 

• How do I fix the small hairline cracks in the cork (not sure if they're visible in the picture)?
  • Kind of related but what is the best glue for plastic to wood (I'm going to be putting the wood on top of a painted Tropicana lid)?

1201181151.thumb.jpg.0c1af028d65c383aae0d09ac608c0557.jpg1201181151a.thumb.jpg.c2c3e15e6ab198ac7d422e92a2f2c9e6.jpg1201181151b.thumb.jpg.7fe06a5d91f6d467cedd1b4469324ac7.jpg

Edited by SparrowMarie
  • Like 4

I haven't done any water effects myself, but I would try a coat of superglue on the inside ring of the cork.  The cork will absorb the glue but will cure hard.

Also interested in what other have had success with.

• Like 3

The one time I've done water effects I used air dry clay as the barrier so it wouldn't run everywhere. Can't remember if I sealed that or not though.

• Like 2

I've only rarely done water effects resin or built things out of cork and never both together. I would think you could use Modge Podge to seal the cork. I use it a lot as glue and sealer for terrain pieces. With various wood pieces I've used it generally works better to seal before painting but isn't always necessary. I've used different Varethane/varnishes as well but prefer the Modge Podge. It won't fill large holes but should make something like your cork ring pretty smooth.

• Like 8
  • Thanks 1