Leviathan

Question on metal assembly

Good afternoon, total noob here. I recently bought my first mini's to try it out, and I am quite pleased with the bones ones. However, I cannot figure out my sole metal mini. It's about 03723: Death Shroud, which comes in two small pieces. I can't seem to figure out how to put those small pieces together without leaving huge gaps in the mini. Before I try something drastic like cutting the bits I'm not sure belong there, I thought I'd try asking first just in cause there's something obvious I'm missing here.

Have a nice day.

IMG_20190326_153452.jpg

• Like 2

You may need some putty or green stuff to fill the gap.  

• Like 2

4 minutes ago, Leviathan said:

I have no idea what that is

edit: so a clay-like substance that hardens after molding it?

If you search for Green Stuff in Miniature Hobby Webstores like Reaper, GW and such you will find it.

This hardens after a while, remains sticky for a reasonable time.

It is often used to fill gaps, you can also sculpt with it.

For a gap like this shroud has, I would use Green Stuff to fill the gaps.

Use superglue to glue it together, roughen up the area which is glued a little for a better bond.

• Like 3

Green stuff is a two part putty, one blue and one yellow that when mixed in equal portions turns green and creates a sticky blob you can use to fill cracks and gaps.  Most hobby stores sell it.  There is also a grey version. 

Likewise you can buy model putty in a squeeze tube from hobby shops. You just aim the tip and then smooth it in with your finger.  

In a pinch you can mix super glue and baby powder but that has a very short drying time so I'd suggest experimenting on something before you try it with your first miniature. 

Regrettably, forum rules prohibit me linking direct to products or shops so you'll have to search yourself or ask at your FLGS (friendly local game store).