Venun

Basing question - materials to use

Hi guys :) I've been painting for about 1,5 years atm, but basing is something I haven't properly done so far yet.

I've usually smeared some texture paint on the base, covered it in a drybrush and called it done.

I'm experimenting with new options atm, recently done a Magma base according to a youtube vid, which turned out good.

However, I'm seeing many vids and many bases here with add on material. I'm guessing it's cork?

Something to create the rocks you see them standing on, or the carpet under their feet, or the pitfall trap they're leaning on, any of this.

What material is this? What material do you guys use to create your bases, and where do you get it from?

If I search for hobby cork I just get this incredibly thin stuff used to make wallets and such out of.. not what I'm after :)

Thanks ahead for your advices!

• Like 3

What a topic to dive into! There are soooooo many answers to your questions. Here are my basing go-tos:

Pumice:

Liquitex calls it "ceramic stucco." Vallejo calls it "pumice paste." GW calls it "texture," or something. I'm pretty sure Golden makes it, too. Bottom line, it's ground-up pumice stone (or similar) suspended in an acrylic gel. You can mix paint into it, you can sculpt it to a certain degree, it sticks to whatever you want it to stick to. This is what I use for dirt, moss, sand and anything else that should have a fine texture on the base. I use this on 90 percent of my bases in one way or another.

Basing Stamps: 

A lot of companies have made these now, with Basius and GreenStuffWorld being the two that I'm best aware of (RIP Happy Seppuku ::(: ). Mix up some putty, press it into the stamp, et voila! You have a base ready to paint (once it cures). Super convenient, nice for armies. For single figures, I usually supplement the stamp with other things.

Cork: