UnreliableNarrator

UnreliableNarrator's unreliable paintjobs: C&C needed

Hey! So I've been putting paint to minis for about two months, and I've yet to finish one up satisfactorily. So I thought I'd come here and ask y'all for some C&C for a struggling newbie.

The Tiefling is an NPC baddie for my DM, and I'm struggling trying to get more detail on his face. I tried adding highlights to his t-zone to make it less flat but getting detail in such a tiny space is driving me mad. I'm also not happy with the highlights on the tail. How do ppl do faces on minis without much detail to the sculpt? 

20191005_011632-01.thumb.jpeg.54bf9ca750e5f87e62c2b3c297a2f5b4.jpeg

20191005_011703-01.thumb.jpeg.4c63d0f84344cfb6280eaec88436544f.jpeg

I've been struggling with transitions and blending/glazing. On the mouseling the transitions are supposed to be glazing but it just comes out more of a wash with a heavy load of pigment where it settles. I've tried wet blending, but I don't know how to get that on smaller or more detailed/textured areas.

20190927_200759-01.thumb.jpeg.2e250f07d370c502b57cc979af1b0587.jpeg

20190927_200814-01.thumb.jpeg.bc7fb9a8602472c2ff2e5d44ad76eb38.jpeg

I'm a lot happier with my skelly boys, and I'm going to try NMM on the swords. I'm wondering how to reduce the shininess on the varnish (the middle one). I'm using Vallejo matte varnish, but there are still reflections under light.

20191006_130707-01.thumb.jpeg.7d7b771a8c47f28270d591055936ce18.jpeg

Thanks so much if you've read down all the way here! I know I've got a long way to go, so I'm looking forward to any and all C&C.

Edit: Cut this down to just the ones I'm not happy with, and need advice on.

Edited by UnreliableNarrator
Edited for Clarity and Conciseness
  • Like 5

I think, overall, you just need to practice more.  You're getting paint in the right places but need finer control to tighten up the details.  Maybe a smaller brush and more patience.