Sign in to follow this  
BourgeoisAngst

Painted my first miniature!

SO a couple of months ago i bought a bunch of miniatures and painting supplies, finally had some time to start and this is my first attempt. I tried following some zenithal priming and glazing/highlighting technique tutorials on youtube. I would very much appreciate any tips, constructive criticism!

EDIT: added my second and third attempts. Tips still appreciated :)

Thanks for all the feedback so far. I'm still painting holding the base because I haven't had a chance to go out and grab some tacky tape. I will grab some today. For the moment, I've been using a matte sealer in a spray can; is this okay or should I get something for my air brush? Still learning to use the airbrush - flow is a bit much as it's hard for me to just press down the right amount to get less paint flow.

I also have a big pewter dragon that doesn't seem to want to stay together no matter how much green stuff and super glue i put on it. I guess i'll have to resort to trying pinning. WIll post results when i get around to it!

firstogre.jpeg

firstogreback.jpeg

cyclops2front.jpg

cyclops2.jpg

cyclopsback.jpg

cyclops2back.jpg

Edited by BourgeoisAngst
  • Like 20

I think you did a great job!

Now, when you look at the back of his feet, you can already see some paint chipping from handling.

Touch it up, and when dry apply a sealer. Reaper brush on sealer is a good one, or a Matt Antishine Varnish spray from Army Painter for instance.

This will protect the paint from handling.

I like what you did, he looks awesome, for me the mini would look even better when you painted and flocked that base.

A little sand or static grass makes it look more real, although some gamers don't bother with bases.

You have good brush control from the look of it.

Highlights can always be pushed a little further, but I think you can be proud of this one.

To be honest, if this is your first attempt, than you have a real talent.