Sign in to follow this  
Venun

Pouring Valejo Still Water

I'm new to the whole water effect in the bases. Now I've used it in the past, but my problem right now is I need to close the border of the base with water.

it's going to be a swamp, with mud, plants and stuff near the middle, and some water on the sides, indicating they're in the middle of all of it.

I guess the main question is: what do I use to create the outer edge for the still water to cure in..?

I've tried ductape, this was a horrific no-no, it leaked through, went to the sides, didn't keep form.

Any tips..?

• Like 1

I don't know Vallejo water effects, so I don't know if this is helpful, but PLASMO - Plastic Models had to do a similar thing with his abandoned KV-2 diorama and a clear resin mix as water. He used, if I understood correctly, acrylic glass.

Check out here: https://youtu.be/4P5GSDNpExQ?list=PL4CTPuZfjAPv74Ptt70tF99yE1TUP3C-Z

• Thanks 1

It's the version of water effects to dab on, like they're waves. Mine is still water. it pours, it's liquid.

The problem is, if I pour it at the side it just goes right off. Tape wasn't strong enough to hold it in position (Or i didn't apply it right).

In the video you linked I don't see him using any liquid water effects that need to be contained, although I do appreciate your reply!

edit: ah there! Found what you mean, thanks! :) Unfortunately my base is an oval, can't use this solution :(

Edited by Venun

Oh I see - I didn't know that.

Do you have got a picture of the base? Maybe we can think of something else, but it's hard to give an advice if I don't know what I have to consider.

• Thanks 1

I'll add one when I'm at home =) Basically it's an oval base with a troll stuck in the middle on an elevated part (the original base that came with Reaper).

The sides I'd like to add water to, if possible. but I'm starting to realise this might become hard :p haha